What size power bank can I take on Air Canada?
Up to 100 Wh. 100-160 Wh: up to 2 with approval from airport agents.
Source: Air Canada official page, checked 7 Nov 2026
Updated 7 Nov 2026
Quick answer
Yes, in your carry-on only. How many: Up to 20 spare batteries and battery packs in total. Maximum size: 100 Wh (100-160 Wh: up to 2 with approval from airport agents). On board: Not stated on the airline's page.
Source: Air Canada official page, checked 7 Nov 2026
Up to 20 spare batteries and battery packs in total
Source: Air Canada, checked 7 Nov 2026
100 Wh
100-160 Wh: up to 2 with approval from airport agents
Source: Air Canada, checked 7 Nov 2026
Not stated on the airline's page
Source: Air Canada, checked 7 Nov 2026
Carry-on only; Anker A1647/A1681/A1689 power banks are banned
Source: Air Canada, checked 7 Nov 2026
Up to 100 Wh. 100-160 Wh: up to 2 with approval from airport agents.
Source: Air Canada official page, checked 7 Nov 2026
Yes. A typical 20,000 mAh power bank at 3.7 V is 74 Wh (20,000 × 3.7 ÷ 1,000). Check the Wh printed on yours.
Source: Air Canada official page, checked 7 Nov 2026
Only with approval. A typical 30,000 mAh power bank at 3.7 V is 111 Wh, which is over 100 Wh.
Source: Air Canada official page, checked 7 Nov 2026
No. Power banks are banned in checked bags on every airline, including bags checked at the gate. Take it out and carry it in the cabin.
Source: IATA guidance on the ICAO rule, checked 6 Nov 2026
Wh = mAh × volts ÷ 1,000. Most power banks use 3.7 V cells. The last column applies Air Canada's rule.
| Capacity | Watt-hours at 3.7 V | Allowed on Air Canada? |
|---|---|---|
| 10,000 mAh | 37 Wh | Yes |
| 20,000 mAh | 74 Wh | Yes |
| 26,800 mAh | 99.2 Wh | Yes |
| 30,000 mAh | 111 Wh | Only with approval |
Source: FAA PackSafe: lithium batteries, checked 6 Nov 2026