What size power bank can I take on AirAsia?
Up to 100 Wh. 100-160 Wh with approval at check-in.
Source: AirAsia official page, checked 6 Nov 2026
Updated 6 Nov 2026
Quick answer
Yes, in your carry-on only. How many: Not stated. Maximum size: 100 Wh (100-160 Wh with approval at check-in). On board: Use and charging devices banned for the entire flight.
Source: AirAsia official page, checked 6 Nov 2026
Not stated
Source: AirAsia, checked 6 Nov 2026
100 Wh
100-160 Wh with approval at check-in
Source: AirAsia, checked 6 Nov 2026
Use and charging devices banned for the entire flight
Source: AirAsia, checked 6 Nov 2026
Seat pocket or under the seat; not overhead or checked
Source: AirAsia, checked 6 Nov 2026
Up to 100 Wh. 100-160 Wh with approval at check-in.
Source: AirAsia official page, checked 6 Nov 2026
Yes. A typical 20,000 mAh power bank at 3.7 V is 74 Wh (20,000 × 3.7 ÷ 1,000). Check the Wh printed on yours.
Source: AirAsia official page, checked 6 Nov 2026
Only with approval. A typical 30,000 mAh power bank at 3.7 V is 111 Wh, which is over 100 Wh.
Source: AirAsia official page, checked 6 Nov 2026
No. Power banks are banned in checked bags on every airline, including bags checked at the gate. Take it out and carry it in the cabin.
Source: IATA guidance on the ICAO rule, checked 6 Nov 2026
Wh = mAh × volts ÷ 1,000. Most power banks use 3.7 V cells. The last column applies AirAsia's rule.
| Capacity | Watt-hours at 3.7 V | Allowed on AirAsia? |
|---|---|---|
| 10,000 mAh | 37 Wh | Yes |
| 20,000 mAh | 74 Wh | Yes |
| 26,800 mAh | 99.2 Wh | Yes |
| 30,000 mAh | 111 Wh | Only with approval |
Source: FAA PackSafe: lithium batteries, checked 6 Nov 2026